Arizona Invitational Update and Results

It’s HOT here in Arizona!! Some how I forgot how hot 105 feels like on your skin and yesterday I was reminded when trying to walk on deck without sandals… Ouch!  The 50 free was on the list of events Saturday and preparing for such an even was tough under the conditions in the prelim session. All of us ended up not swimming as well as we  would have liked in the morning. Also due to the format of the night sessions super final heat (top 4)  Cullen missed out placing 5th.

Our group of sprinters here at MAC are also learning a lot about each other. I have been noticing its very hard to compete against each other at meets right now. In the 50 free it takes strong emotions to get prepared properly for some. Sometimes hatred and anger towards your competitors is needed to really get to where you need to be. When you actually want some of your competitors to do well that emotion you rely on so often is hard to bring about. And if you do get to where you need to be it feels almost forced and artificial. I think we all need to work on that and just race together more often this next year to prepare for trials.

The 50 super final was a lot of fun though. I again felt like I went back in time 5 years ago when stepping up on the blocks. The heat consisted of two U of A guys which gave me enough motivation to want to win already being an ASU Alumni! But most of my motivation was coming from one specific U of A Swimmer due to me teaching him how to sprint when he was progression through the club team I swam at in Arizona in years past. I felt a little pride in the fact that he has been swimming so well, BUT I wasn’t about to let him win! I didn’t teach him all of what I knew. Josh Schneider my fellow team mate was also in the heat.

I ended up going 22.69 almost 7 tenths faster than the morning and pulled off the win with Josh getting 2nd at 22.78 and my student from the past getting 3rd at 22.8. The race wasn’t my greatest in terms on execution of specific things I wanted to work on but emotionally I hit where I wanted to be and I’m happy about the win. It’s also nice to win some money along the way too.

Next up are some off events this Sunday and to our liking it will be 10 degrees cooler today and top out at only 95 which should make it a little more bearable.  Thanks SDA and “west coast” MAC for putting this meet together and inviting “east coast” MAC to the valley of the sun!!

live Meet Results [Link]

About Nick Brunelli

I am a World Champion, Former American Record Holder & still full time swimmer. I am a full time employee of Merck & co., a devoted husband and proud owner of a rescued Greyhound!

Posted on May 29, 2011, in Events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

