Swimming into my 30s…. Is it time?

Swimming at a professional level has been something I have been fortunate enough to be doing for a long time now. 7 years to be exact. But swimming, professionally or as an amateur, has been my passion for almost 20 years. It’s given me so much; most of it I thought was only possible in my dreams.

Like all things it has to come to an end sooner or later…. I am 29 years old and have now been to 3 Olympic Trials and 2 of those 3 I was runner-up to go to the Olympic Games. I competed at World Championships many times and traveled the world competing for The United States of America. I am extremely happy with what I have accomplished in the sport of swimming and now have some of the greatest stories to share with friends and family for years to come.

Since the 2008 Olympic Trials my life has been turned up side down. I got married to my beautiful wife Jennifer, moved across the country to the Charlotte North Carolina area, became an uncle to Giovanni Brunelli, transformed from a cat only owner to a cat and greyhound owner, found a full-time job with a great company Merck and Co., and joined Swim MAC Carolina Team Elite to continue to swim at a level perfectly fit for my life.

But like I said, all things have to come to an end sooner or later…. I just choose later. I want to be able to tell my kids what its like to become an Olympian and bring back a gold medal they can see and feel. So here and now starts the push for London 2012. No regrets!

About Nick Brunelli

I am a World Champion, Former American Record Holder & still full time swimmer. I am a full time employee of Merck & co., a devoted husband and proud owner of a rescued Greyhound!

Posted on January 31, 2011, in General Post. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Nick,
    Looks like you are off to a great start with your blog. Good luck with it.
    Peter

  2. Go Nick, David is an amazing coach and I know you will achieve your dreams. Bring it home, I’ll be checking out the blog!!

    FORK’EM DEVILS!!!!!

  3. Jessica Van Assen

    I can imagine that gold medal on the dining room wall now! You’re an inspiration to all those who catch a mere glimpse of you! (and those who are lucky enough to call you family!) GO GET ‘EM, NICK!

Leave a Reply

