Train for the Future Today (part 1)

I set my goals extremely high. Some have told me I set goals way too high. But, most of the time I have been able achieve them.  I achieved those goals through pure hard work. That hard work gave me amazing endurance and confidence to go up against anyone. I enjoyed being in pain; from doing an impossible 2 hour weight room session, to jumping in on a long course swim set with the D guys.   I pushed my body swimming more distance sets than a normal sprinter growing up. Sometimes beyond what others thought was possible for a sprinter.

Now on the other side of the spectrum, I have set goals I didn’t achieve. Like many, not achieving hard to reach  goals is common if you set your standards high.  But why I didn’t achieve some goals is the exact same reason why I was so successful at achieving others. I worked out extremely hard and often, but put little thought into what I was working hard at.

Today’s training can’t be like what it used to be. I can’t just train harder or put more hours of work under my belt to see great advancements in my best times. It’s just not smart to think only working harder will get me to the level I want to be at. Elite athletes today are working towards efficiency and more balanced training programs. We are learning that recovery is as important if not more  important than working harder for longer. I know I can push the limits of what my body can handle but am learning when its time to recover instead of blocking out the pain.  Most athletes at the brink of greatness that want to truly be the best already work extremely hard. Its teaching them to know when to push through pain and when (sometimes) turning the “animal” inside off that is best.  Reaching the goals I have set for myself in the next 2 years will require a lot of hard work but most importantly it needs to be balanced and that includes my life in the pool and out.

So from this day forward I am not going to just work harder, I am going to be balanced and structured with my life and let all the pieces work together to reach my goals! I am working smarter rather than harder.  I have put in place resources all around me to keep me balanced throughout my life and I can’t wait for the end results!

Next up: Answers about how to beat the shiny suit times wearing only a Jammer….

Train for the Future Today (part 2)

About Nick Brunelli

I am a World Champion, Former American Record Holder & still full time swimmer. I am a full time employee of Merck & co., a devoted husband and proud owner of a rescued Greyhound!

Posted on February 8, 2011, in General Post. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Excellent article. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m quite impressed! Extremely useful information specially the last part. I care for such information a lot. I was seeking this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  1. Pingback: Training for the Future Today! (part 2) | Nick Brunelli

Leave a Reply

