Training for the Future Today! (part 2)

Continued from Training for the Future Today (part 1). World Records are now extremely fast! With shiny, tight, fast suits, the general public’s eye drew close to a sport never before seen in prime time.  During that time the sport was in the spotlight and people began to forget how hard and amazing it was to break world records. It became common to hear “A NEW WORLD RECORD” at meets.  And within a few months coaches, officials, and athletes of the sport talked about banning those shiny, tight, fast suits. They were gone as quickly as they came on the scene.  What’s left of those super hero swims are the remains of what was in the suit…. a swimmer.

Many look back at those World Records and shake their heads in disgust. I use to be one of them. During that time, to compete at a world event and swim against the best names in swimming wasn’t the same as it used to be. The fastest swimmers may not have always won; The faster suit did!

Today, I look at those World Records and don’t see them as I used to.  For me I see opportunity. I ask myself every day, in those suits how did we swim that fast? What was the difference? How can I swim today to create those unthinkable swims? How can I train my body to live in the “suit Era” body line without shiny suits?

Well I have a simple answer. Without the suits how do we create better body floating lines, better push-offs and starts? All of these are tied to core strength. But core strength means nothing in swimming if you don’t have the CORRECT body position with it. 90 percent of the swimmers I see on deck have a strong core. A swimmers body is not complete without a full 6 pack of abs and for many an 8 pack. They do hundreds of variations of ab exercises. But when their cores strong as a rock while swimming, are they in the correct body position to hold speed, maintain stroke, and create power through the whole race?!?! This is what the suits helped us do.  Without suits we need to learn how to perfect movements in the water with a better body line. Ultimately that’s how we will break these astronomical World Records.

Every day I am working on my line. My whole body needs to re-learn how to now only hold itself flat but do it with strength and stability not material. Our whole dry-land routine is being changed daily to help this. No matter what we are doing its not only with a strong core but with a better body line too.

About Nick Brunelli

I am a World Champion, Former American Record Holder & still full time swimmer. I am a full time employee of Merck & co., a devoted husband and proud owner of a rescued Greyhound!

Posted on February 19, 2011, in Dry-land Training, General Post, Swim Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This was a really interesting post. I’m a Master’s swimmer (started 6 months ago), with no real previous swim experience, so learning the technique required to go fast has been and remains a challenge. Thus, it’s fantastic to learn stuff from the best. Thanks, Nick!

  1. Pingback: Train for the Future Today (part 1) | Nick Brunelli

Leave a Reply

