Objectives for Indianapolis Grand Prix

On March 3rd through the 5th I will be attending the Indianapolis Grand Prix in Indianapolis Indiana. I plan on racing my main events which are the 50 and 100 freestyle but will also race a few off events which are the 200 free, 100 back and 200IM. Before a meet like this I like to take a moment and set up some objectives to focus on. below are a few that I will be working on during the meet in Indianapolis.

  1. I will practice race strategies for the end of the year for my main events.
  2. I will be more aggressive in my 100 free and allow my work to follow through.
  3. I will following my step by step pre-race and post-race process.
  4. I will monitor technique through video analysis provided by USA Swimming.
  5. I will take notes of my mental status and record them for later review.

These are the five main objectives I will be working on this week in Indianapolis. Having  objectives and working to accomplish them in a step by step process allows me to not look for instant results and force it. I have learned that if you force it, it’s normally not going to happen the way you want it. This will be my first meet where I feel like I have some good work behind.  Its has been over 2 years since I have felt like this and can’t wait to see how the meet plays out.

Meet info and results are here: Indianapolis Grand Prix Competition Page.

About Nick Brunelli

I am a World Champion, Former American Record Holder & still full time swimmer. I am a full time employee of Merck & co., a devoted husband and proud owner of a rescued Greyhound!

Posted on March 1, 2011, in Events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. will be cheering for you…it’s going to be a great event!

  2. go get’em boy! travel safely.

  3. Good luck! by the way what would mental notes look like or do you have some sheet to fill out, at what sort of periods in the meet would you record?

Leave a Reply

