WSA is Here! Time to Change the World Of FINA?

Is It Time to Change the World [Of FINA]? Swimnews.com did an article on the WSCA (World Swimming Coaches Association) forming WSA (World Swimming Association) which was created to model what WSCA wants FINA to look more like. In this article WSA states it was formed with intentions to take over FINA. With views like “…to blow it up and start over” referencing to FINA, shows how radical WSA could be to the sport at elite levels of swimming. WSA states it wants to be fully functional to be in position to have coaches and athlete sit out World Champs in 2014.

George Block, President of WSCA

I find these articles interesting due to the radical change WSA would bring to the sport. I see big promises for the future with these changes but I also see turbulence along the way.  I just hope it doesn’t affect the dreams of athletes. Sitting out World Championships scares me as an athlete… Doesn’t it scare you?

 

The full article at Swimnews.com
Is It Time to Change the World [Of FINA]?

Article By WSCA President George Block
It is Time to Change the World

About Nick Brunelli

I am a World Champion, Former American Record Holder & still full time swimmer. I am a full time employee of Merck & co., a devoted husband and proud owner of a rescued Greyhound!

Posted on March 15, 2011, in General Post and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Wise words. It has to serve the athletes and their athletic endeavors, rather than requiring the athletes to serve the structure.

    • Joe I think we need to tread lightly around FINA and WSA until we know for sure whats going to happen. The athletes don’t have enough info to view from within…. yet! But when they do we need to have a say.

  2. Nick,

    I agree, any possible solution to the governmental mess we have has to include the athletes. I feel very ambivalent about the WSCA and the WSA because it seems to think that exchanging one good old boys network (FINA) for another (WSCA) is the right thing to do. I’m saying this as a coach- what about the athletes? They have had far too little influence over their own fates for far too long.

  3. Has anyone thought of mediation? It seems to me some controlling rich, old, bullies are saying we’re stronger and have more influence and you have NO SAY! I can say this here because I’m not a swimmer and I don’t have to sugar coat what I want to say!

    Where would any of these organization be without the swimmers? Where would they make their money and sit high up in their corporate offices making decisions for you – THE SWIMMER! -Why don’t the swimmers around the world or at least country by country start signing a petition stating that they want to be A part of the decision making! They want to be represented! It is YOUR RIGHT!

  4. I received a bulk email from George about some of these plans and immediately responded. As a member of the 1980 Boycott Olympic Team, my concern was immediately for the athletes. In my opinion, because the lifespan is so short, there HAS to be a GREAT alternative meet, and the athletes should be compensated fairly… not just the top athletes, but ALL athletes who participate. If this is the road we’re going down, then let’s not forget, you have to fill all 8 lanes in finals to have a race, sprint championships excluded ;). But seriously, I agree with Chris about who is going to replace who? Unless the athletes have a BIG stake in any new organization, then what’s the point?

Leave a Reply

