Quad Day!

As I type this post I am on my second rest period between 4 workouts. My rest has been while working but it’s still rest to me! below is my basic daily plan

  • workout one was LCM and was from 7am to 10am
  • Workout two was one hour of dry-land cardio and speed work from 12 to 1:30pm.
  • Workout Three will be 2 hours in the weight room from 4pm to 6pm
  • Workout four will be in the water with short & speed work . 6:15 pm to 7:30PM

This is day 5 of my Training Trip without the “Trip.” I am loving it and can’t get enough to be honest. Sometimes during hard training you get into a groove and no matter what’s given to you it’s exciting even if it’s hard! Days like today are the easy ones. I look forward to tomorrow where I bet I wont feel as good. Then I’ll have an opportunity to have a good day when I’m not feeling like it and that’s where I make up ground on my competition.

About Nick Brunelli

I am a World Champion, Former American Record Holder & still full time swimmer. I am a full time employee of Merck & co., a devoted husband and proud owner of a rescued Greyhound!

Posted on March 22, 2011, in Swim Training, Winning Mentality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. WOW! People – me included – just don’t realize what it takes to be a world champion. Thanks for sharing your regimen with us.

  2. OMG, I am a National Level swimmer myself and I train a lot but having workouts so close to eachother is insane. I don’t think I can do that. My schedule of 5:30-7:30am swim, (9:30am-5:30pm office work), 6-7:30swim and 7:45-9:00 pm dry land is nothing compared to yours. My hat goes off for you. How many days in a row do you do that?

    • This is not a normal everyday schedule. Just this week I’m adding in workouts whenever I have a moment of time. But normally, Tuesday I have set up my work schedule to allow extra time to train. But on Thursday, I work 9 hour days and only have one light workout. This balances my hours at work. I am fortunate to have an employer like Merck and Co. down in Charlotte that understands what I am trying to do. Flexible schedules help a lot. It all starts with Merck for me!

Leave a Reply

