A Steakhouse over Mexican Food in Arizona?

OK, I must tell you all a little kept secret about Arizona Dining. First off, I can tell you the Phoenix area knows how to do Mexican! I can’t seem to find a place on the planet that can match Salty Senoritas in Scottsdale [link]. Even Mexico can’t do it better. But let me tell you something, Arizona also has the best Steakhouse in the country!  About 6 years ago I was on the hunt for a nice steakhouse to take a beautiful girl I was dating at the time (now my wife). I ended up finding a place that was attached to a small office building  right next to the Scottsdale Mall which I heard great things about.  I read some reviews and everyone was saying it was the place to go for steak, entertainment and absolutely the best service. The restaurant was called City Hall Steakhouse.

When we arrived at the restaurant about 30 minutes before our reservation I thought we would hit the bar for a quick drink. We walked in and to our enjoyment a band was playing in the corner and everyone was really into it. The band was playing some great classics and done very well too. If I remember right they were playing The Piano Man by Billy Joel which felt so fitting on a Saturday night around 9pm…. We sat down at the bar and ordered our drinks. Out came come huge martini glasses and small personal shakers for each of us. it ended up being at least 2 drinks worth. while we were sitting and enjoying the music we noticed how amazing the bar looked. It had an old Steakhouse  feel with darker woods but an added new age feel to it that kept in looking young and new. Jenn and I both just loved it!

Now When it comes to reservations I feel like any place you go to the restaurants think it’s a suggested time. They never can seat you when your reservation was set. Here at City Hall they got it right. Exactly to the minute when our reservation was set to we had the host come up to us and ask if we wanted to be seated now.  She took our drinks directly to the table for us and the bill was transferred over to the table. We sat down and within moments we had a personal Butler so it seamed the rest of the nite.

The meal was amazing from start to finish! Even the mood was great in the dining room. we could hear the band playing but very lightly in the background. The decor was very stylish but again had a nice steakhouse feel with the white table cloths and black napkins. But the food stole the show! The Seafood tower was an awesome starter. The side dishes were great too. We has lobster Mashed potato that I think had more lobster than potato. The Mac and Cheese which I think could have been better than my moms! Sorry mom. And steamed broccoli with a little garlic. But, let me tell you about the steak!  6 years ago there was an entree at City Hall Steakhouse that wasn’t on the menu. The server suggested it when I told him how much I enjoy my filets. He described it to me and I was skeptical. It’s a bone in filet which I was thinking they couldn’t cook it correctly for medium rare throughout. normally near the bone its undercooked and on the outside its over cooked and filets need to be good perfectly! Cooking it evenly would be a nightmare. But, It was served perfectly cooked with laser precision. When I mean laser I really mean it. The steak is cooked to perfection by laser heat detection which allows a filet to cook evenly while still on the bone which makes it taste even better. This allows the steak to be cooked perfectly throughout no matter what the cut. The steak melted in my mouth! I had to ask the waiter what the seasoning was on the steak and he said no seasoning at all. I was tasting only the great flavor of the cut. I was blown away.

At the time my wife wasn’t a nutritionist and we both ended up having dessert because everything else was so good why not finish it off! We ended the night with Chocolate Covered Strawberries and Creme Brulee and an espresso! it was the perfect end to amazing dinner.

take a look at this place and seriously consider it for your next steakhouse visit when in the phoenix Arizona area [Link]. If you like a nice steak, great entertainment, and exceptional service try out City Hall Steakhouse out in Scottsdale, Arizona.

And if you like fun Mexican, Salty Senoritas [Link] is a great place too. The patio is great for outdoor dining and just drinks if your thirst from the Arizona sun.

About Nick Brunelli

I am a World Champion, Former American Record Holder & still full time swimmer. I am a full time employee of Merck & co., a devoted husband and proud owner of a rescued Greyhound!

Posted on May 27, 2011, in General Post, RDpro-Nutrition and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

