Increase your Chances of Winning

I love to train hard! It takes a special mindset to train at the highest of levels and every day I strive to get there. In the water, I love the feeling of my muscles filling with lactate and seizing up after ALL OUT efforts on short rest. During Dry-land, I love sweat pouring down my face feeling the salt burn my eyes. When doing pull-ups until failure, I love the taste of sweat dripping into my mouth uncontrollably.  When my body shuts down during workouts and my vision blurs because I pushed my body beyond  its capabilities, I just smile… I love it! And I love doing this all because of one thing. WINNING!

I love the feeling of stepping up on the podium knowing I was the best that day. Anyone competitive knows this sensation. For us competitive junkies, the dream of winning is always pumping through our veins and can gets us through workouts to tough for the weak to handle.

But, I think the people that take it one step farther get more out of it and increase their chances of  winning. Embrace the pain it’s going to take to win! Embrace the notion that it’s going to hurt to get your chance at being the best. With this mindset it will limit the chances of failure and increase the chances of success! If the day comes to compete and your not 100% you will still know it’s good enough to win it all because you put in the effort! Now that’s a feeling everyone strives to have and with that comes confidence.

Make the choice to work harder now, Then take your dreams right in front of you instead of having to reach for them and possibly miss! Why take that chance!

About Nick Brunelli

I am a World Champion, Former American Record Holder & still full time swimmer. I am a full time employee of Merck & co., a devoted husband and proud owner of a rescued Greyhound!

Posted on June 3, 2011, in Swim Training, Winning Mentality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

